biography  previousnext

The four Nobel prize winners
from left.: Bunin, Schrödinger,
Dirac, Heisenberg, 1933

Nobel Prize I

On November 9, 1933 at 9 p.m. Annemarie Schrödinger is called to the telephone at a small Oxford hotel. It is the London Times telling her that her husband is among the Nobel Prize winners of that year.

On December 10, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death, the1933 Nobel Prize for Physics is awarded to Erwin Schrödinger and Paul Adrien Maurice Dirac in Stockholm.